At the CCM leadership elections in Dodoma on December 20th President Mwinyi obtained 1,311 votes out of 1,340 cast to retain his Chairmanship of the Party. Zanzibar President Amour got 1,296 votes out of 1,318 and was elected Vice-Chairman. 70 members (out of 292 candidates) were elected to the Party’s National Executive Committee (MEC) which had previously had 150 members, Party Vice-chairman Rashidi Kawawa announced his resignation, after more than 40 years in politics, ‘because of age and poor health’ President Mwinyi asked him not to build a fence round his house “because we want to continue drawing from your pot of wisdom”.

The following day the NEC elected the Party’s 19-member Central Committee which now includes Messrs. Horace Kolimba (Secretary General), Paul Bomani (Treasurer), Kingunge N’gombale Mwiru (Publicity Secretary), Cleopa Msuya, Sebastian Chale, Pius Msekwa, Mustafa Nyang’anyi, ldris Wakil and Ben Mkapa.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.