After a year of debate over the precise terms of the agreement the Presidents of Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda signed a treaty in Arusha on November 30 re-establishing an East African Community. The original East African Community (EAC) had lasted from 1967 until 1977. But, although the new treaty apparently established a customs union and represented a step towards political and economic integration on the EC model, a decision on the setting up of the originally envisaged Common Market seems to have been postponed indefinitely. (We hope to have more on this in our next issue ~ Editor).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.